Global Homophobia

After talking a lot in class about national and worldwide issues involving other countries law and regulations towards the LGBTQ community it really opened up a whole other side of things I usually don’t think about.  I am so focused on what is going on in our country right now regarding LGBTQ and politics that I don’t even think about what it is like in other countries.   We talked specifically about Russia and my jaw dropped in shock of how liberal things are over there.  The clip today bout their fear of gender “abnormalities” and fear of LGBTQ really showed me how stuck in the past some of these countries are.  It is time to move forward with new and different views on the world, having those views being more accepting.  Equality is not a new concept for my generation and it blows my mind that due to religion and other groups in society, some things just seem like they will never change. I read an article about Chechnya, to explore more about the topics we covered in class.  There is a movement to evacuate those who are gay and are in fear of their lives, but this movement is being produces by a very small support group for LGBTQ which typically has to stay under the radar to avoid getting killed or prosecuted. The article states that they have helped and supported 30 survivors so far. This is a small number compared to how many people most likely need their help.  The torture done to these individuals is now being called the “Chechen Purge” which I cannot believe is still happening in this day in age.  It is a difficult situation because I think it is hard to get people into the country and help them, because who is going to listen to a bunch of Americans telling them how to run their country? I hope that issues like this can be solved through education of what someone who is gay really goes through and that it is not a choice for them.  I think those in Russia clearly do not understand the reality of what LGBTQ is.  This probably relates back to the fact that their leader is a white, straight male and the thoughts and personal opinions of his obviously translate into the regulations and movements that go on in the country.

 

Here is the link made by the small activist group for aiding LGBTQ in Russia:

“News Update: Persecution of LGBT people in Chechnya, April 17.” News Update: Persecution of LGBT people in Chechnya, April 17 | Российская ЛГБТ-сеть. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 May 2017.

5 thoughts on “Global Homophobia

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you. I try to educate myself any opportunity I have, yet I seemed to have let the whole idea of LGBTQ+ issues in other countries go completely over my head. Gay marriage is only 3 years old and I have always thought that we are far behind our times, yet it seems as though there is a lot more work to do outside of the US. I found it really interesting you mentioned the “Chechen Purge”. The word “purge” is something I only have heard of when it is in a horror movie or referring to avoiding junk food. I had to completely change my mindset of this word and put it in a more serious situation to truly understand the demand of action that is needed in the world.

    Like

  2. I agree with you that when I think of LGBTQ issues I tend to just think about the United States. Although, the LGBTQ community is not just in America, it is worldwide. I had no idea that all of this was going on in Russia, specifically your focus on Chechnya. It is horrible to see innocent people standing up for what they believe in and getting arrested because the government is against what they stand for. These activists were detained for 2 weeks for trying to deliver a petition signed by 2 million people. The petition was to have the Russian authorities investigate the alleged torture and detention of gay people in Chechnya. It is so sad to see that it is 2017 and there are still so many people, including many people with great power, that still do not fully understand the LGBTQ community.

    Like

  3. I totally agree with you. Like the previous comments when I think of LGBTQ issues I automatically think of issues within the U.S. not realizing all the terrible things happening in other countries. Similarly to you after we talked about Chechnya in class I looked into more detail on what is going on there. When I was reading one of the articles I think I remember reading that they made prisoners beat prisoners with both metal rods and electrical shocks. But not only that but they starved them and they could only drink water when “they allowed me to pray, during ablutions”. I never realized that being gay (something someone doesn’t choose to be) can be so controversial and make people go to extremes.

    Like

  4. I often criticize the US because i do not think that we are not very far in the LGBTQ+ equality movement. Then I remember that in comparison to other countries the US is actually very far progressed. Seeing some of the current events of the world reminds me that people in other countries are still so severely oppressed. I remember that the US is fairly lucky compared to other places in the world. It does make me sad to think that the world as a whole is so divided in regards to the LGBTQ+ community though.

    Like

  5. I agree 100% with you on how far behind other countries are compared to us. Not for nothing, as progressed as we may think ourselves, living in the United States to be, some of us tend to be extremely far behind on this stuff too. I don’t believe we’re any further than other countries in terms of equality for the people in the LGBTQ community. It sucks that people are still stuck in a time period where being who you are is considered to be extremely sinful. It’s also a bad thing how we only ever consider issues in the united states and forget about other places solely because we don’t live there. We tend to believe that if isn’t happening to us, it isn’t happening out there. Very sad people are oppressed for standing up in what they believe in, just because it goes against what their government believes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

