Different Standards

For this weeks post, I have decided to focus on the TED talk; “Roxane Gay: Confessions of a bad feminist,” I thoroughly enjoyed this video for numerous reasons. I thought it was important how she used the pedestal as a way of describing what standards feminist are held up to. This especially spoke to me because I feel as though not only feminist, but women in general, are held up to this standard of what everyone thinks a women should do or as Gay puts it “make women economically vulnerable when they choose,” to do something such as being a stay at home mom. The term “bad feminism” was brought up to show that not all feminist, including Roxane Gay, ¬†follows that “cookie cutter” image that puts them on that pedestal that “we expect them to pose perfectly (on but) when they disappoint us we gleefully knock them from the very pedestal we put them on.” I feel like this allows people who aren’t feminist to have a broader understanding that someone can be a feminist on there own terms. That being said, I thought it was interesting when we brought up whether or not Nikki Minaj is a true feminist, and the majority said no due to her lack of involvement with the LGBTQ community. But is Nikki Minaj just being a feminist on her own terms also known as a “bad feminist” or is she even considered a feminist at all? Should there be qualifications to being a feminist, or can anyone no matter there feelings about different genders, race, ethnicity etc. be a feminist?

3 thoughts on “Different Standards

  1. I agree that the TED talk was one of the most inspiring and relatable pieces we have had to analyze so far in this class. It is easy to relate to someone that admits to their flaws and that they are not perfect all the time. I like how you bring up her point about the women in the workforce and I think another article/blog mentioned this point as well, that if a woman wants to be a stay at home mom it does not mean that she cannot label herself a feminist. I myself want to be a physicians assistant once I graduate because I want to know that I can be independently financially stable if I do not find a significant other, that being said it is not wrong of me or “not feminist” of me to say that once and if I do find that significant other then I want to quit my job and be a stay at home mom with my children. My mom was a huge part of my life growing up and she was a stay at home mom. Because she choose to not be a working woman of our modern society does not mean that I view her as weak or that she is “stuck in the old days” where a woman had no choice but to stay at home. She made me realize growing up how much potential and power I had for myself being a woman. She taught me that even though the world is working against women at this point in time does not mean that I cannot change that. I would consider my mom a feminist and I would consider myself one too, even thought being a stay at home mom sounds appealing to both of us.

    Like

  2. I think the certain idea(s) of feminism being thrown around by Roxane Gay and Sandra S. are just altered, personalized, and morale-driven versions of the true (what I believe to be true) version that’s slowly become much more than people have believed it to be. To elaborate, Oxford defines Feminism as “the belief and aim that women should have the same rights and opportunities as men; the struggle to achieve this aim” and a feminist someone “having or based on the belief that women should have the same rights and opportunities as men.” I draw these definitions because as I was watching Roxane Gay’s TED talk I couldn’t help but notice that a lot of what talk of is not necessarily about feminism but rather the way women are treated looked upon in general. I may be straight to the point, but I think the lines of female representation and outlook and feminism are becoming blurred. Essentially, I enjoyed the video. I would’ve just liked to have seen more of a political stance taken by Gay.

    Like

  3. On the part at the end about our Nicki Minaj debate, I think she is her own type of feminist, I understand that she has such a big platform she can use to “spread the word on feminism” and influence people but isn’t a kind of “feminist shaming” that is going on when you scrutinize someone like that? I think she could be classified as a bad feminist, or a good one, or whatever she wants, along with anyone else for that matter. There are too many standards of what being a feminist is and I think that if were saying being a feminist means being inclusive, we should accept all types of feminist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

